(Last Updated On: February 1, 2016)
Two Tasmanian festivals, an Indigenous artist, and an art facilitator have shared $175,000 in prize money.
2015 Sidney Myer Performing Arts Award-winners announced

From left to right: Rupert Myer AO, Carrillo Gantner AO, Kate Gould, Executive Producer Dark Mofo and Lucy Forge, program manager, Dark Mofo (representing Leigh Carmichael), Theatre Works’ Daniel Clarke, Ursula Yovich, Mofo’s Brian Ritchie, and Leonard Vary (CEO, The Myer Foundation and Sidney Myer Fund). Photo: Jeff Darmanin.

Now in its 32nd year, the Sidney Myer Performing Arts Awards were presented in Sydney last night.

Helpmann Award-winner Ursula Yovich, who has performed with every major theatre company and on every main stage in Australia, received the $60,000 Individual Winner award.

Popular Tasmanian festivals Mofo (curated by The Violent Femmes’ Brian Ritchie) and Dark Mofo (​under creative director Leigh Carmichael) were joint winners of the Group Award, with each festival receiving $45,000 each.

Melbourne-based producer and CEO of Theatre Works, Daniel Clarke, was awarded the $25,000 Facilitator’s Prize. Clarke, who this week launched his fifth and final Theatre Works program, will soon move on to Arts Centre Melbourne, where he joins the programming team.

The awards were presented by Carrillo Gantner AO, Chair of the Sidney Myer Fund, at the Sydney Opera House on Thursday night.

‘In a very troubled world, the arts shine a beacon on our shared humanity – illuminating all that is good; challenging us to question our views and the way we live. This can only make us stronger and more aware as individuals and together as a society,’ said Gantner.

‘As testament to this, we have increased the value of the Awards, so that they are free to flourish and renew.’

The Sidney Myer Performing Arts Awards were established in 1984 by the Trustees of the Sidney Myer Fund, to commemorate the 50th anniversary of the death of Sidney Myer, a passionate arts philanthropist.

Announced annually, the awards are determined by a Judging Committee chaired by Gantner and including Louise Herron AM, Noel Staunton, Sarah Neal, Iain Grandage, and John Bailey.

To date the Trustees of the Sidney Myer Foundation have awarded well over $3 million, adjusted to present day values.