Chancery: Miloša Savčića 4, Belgrade
Tel: +381 (11) 3674-225
Fax: +381 (11) 3674-229
E-mail: koreaemb.rs@mofa.go.kr
Web page: http://srb.mofa.go.kr/worldlanguage/europe/ser/main/index.jsp

Commercial Office of the Embassy (KOTRA)
VIG Plaza, 7th Floor, Trešnjinog cveta 1, Belgrade
Tel: +381 (11) 3110-860, +381 (11) 3110-644
Fax: +381 (11) 3111-522
E-mail: beograd@kotra.rs

Working hours:
Monday – Friday: 08.00-16.00h


H.E. Mr. LEE Do-hoon

H.E. Mr. LEE Do-hoon

The Ambassador of South Korea in Serbia, His Excellency Mr. Lee Do-Hoon visited Nis together with the management of the Korean companies Yura and Shin Won and on this occasion they met with Nis City Mayor Zoran Perisic at Nis City Hall. The local branches of Yura and Shin Won are doing well and that was the reason that new Korean Ambassador chose Nis for his first official visit since he had started his terms of office in Serbia on November 18. Bringing new investors to the city is the main objective of cooperation with this Asian country. In addition to economic cooperation, Nis and South Korea could cooperate in the field of culture. “In order for two nations to understand each other better the cooperation in the field of culture is necessary”, as Mayor Perisic said.

National Day: October 3rd

National holidays: March 1st, August 15th


in South Korea, is an East Asian territory that is divided into two distinct sovereign states: North Korea, formally the Democratic People’s Republic of Korea (DPRK), and South Korea, formally the Republic of Korea (ROK). Located on the Korean Peninsula, Korea is bordered by China to the northwest and Russia to the northeast. It is separated from Japan to the east by the Korea Strait and the Sea of Japan .

Korea emerged as a singular political entity after centuries of conflict among the Three Kingdoms of Korea, which were unified as Silla (57 BC – AD 935) and Balhae (AD 698 – 926). The united Silla was eventually succeeded by Goryeo in 935 at the end of the Later Three Kingdoms period. Goryeo, which gave name to the modern exonym “Korea”, was a highly cultured state and created the Jikji in the 14th century. The invasions by the Mongol Empire in the 13th century, however, greatly weakened the nation, which forced it into vassalage. After the Yuan dynasty’s collapse, severe political strife followed. Goryeo eventually fell to an uprising led by General Yi Seong-gye, who established Joseon in 1388.

The first 200 years of Joseon were marked by relative peace and saw the creation of the Korean alphabet by King Sejong the Great in the 14th century and the increasing influence of Confucianism. During the later part of the dynasty, however, Korea’s isolationist policy earned it the Western nickname of the “Hermit kingdom”. By the late 19th century, the country became the object of imperial design by the Empire of Japan. Despite attempts at modernization by the Korean Empire, in 1910, Korea was annexed by Japan and remained a part of Imperial Japan until the end of World War II in August 1945.

In 1945, the Soviet Union and the United States agreed on the surrender of Japanese forces in Korea in the aftermath of World War II, leaving Korea partitioned along the 38th parallel, with the North under Soviet occupation and the south under U.S. occupation. These circumstances soon became the basis for the division of Korea by the two superpowers, exacerbated by their inability to agree on the terms of Korean independence. The Communist-inspired government in the North received backing from the Soviet Union in opposition to the pro-Western government in the South, leading to Korea’s division into two political entities: North Korea and South Korea. This eventually led to war in 1950, which became the Korean War. The war did not produce a formalized peace treaty, a factor that contributes to the high tensions which continue to divide the peninsula.

Latest news from Diplomatic Portal